RB Sports Discussion > SEC Sports

Johnny "Lam" Jones passes . . .

Pages: (1/1)

WizardofhOgZ:

It's hard enough to be losing players that were my heroes when I was a child, but it's an eye opener when players (in this case, from our then-rivals) pass that played AFTER I graduated from college.

Older folks here will remember  "Lam" well.  He got that name because he came from Lampasas Texas and his fellow Horn with the same name came from Hamlin (hence, he was "Ham" Jones), and he had speed to burn.  Here is a good article on him from veteran UT observer Kirk Bohls.

https://www.hookem.com/columns/bohls-still-cant-believe-eyes-johnny-lam-jones-glides-effortlessly-history-books/

pghawg1:

Prayers for him and his family

alohawg:

Hated those guys, but respected them too.  RIP Johnny 'Lam' Jones, a great one.

SooieGeneris:

I don't recall much about Johnny "Ham" Jones, just the name. Johnny "Lam" Jones was lightning in a bottle. The guy was one of the fastest football players I have ever seen to this day.

Derek Russell and Dominique Reed are two of the few Hogs in my life time that could compare speed wise. Jordan Jones maybe if it's true as Drew Morgan said that some of their teammates thought Jones could beat Reed in a race.

Rudy Baylor:

Ham and Lam, from Hamlin and Lampasas

Hogs-n-Roses:

The newspaper read "Hogs can't keep up with the Jones's" RIP JJ

DeltaBoy:

Rest in Peace!

rtr:

Ham, Lam, and Jam.  Darrel Royal could name them.

LZH: